Who We Are

The Diocese of Southern Ohio is one of 111 dioceses in the Episcopal Church. The diocese is made up of 71 churches with more than 18,000 members in Cincinnati, Columbus, Dayton, and in farm towns, county seats and suburban centers across the southern half the state.

The Diocese of Southern Ohio was created in 1875 when the Diocese of Ohio split into two dioceses, and Thomas A. Jagger became the first bishop of Southern Ohio. The Diocese of Southern Ohio has  jurisdiction of 40 counties in Southern Ohio. The offices of the Bishop of Southern Ohio and the cathedral, Christ Church Cathedral, are both located in downtown Cincinnati.

The Episcopal Church is a part of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

Find a church.


A church focused outside our doors, loving and serving Jesus Christ in our beloved communities in relevant ways, both new and traditional


Christ is calling us into meaningful connections with each other that transcend all boundaries, and to act on those connections for the benefit of all. By these connections we are made whole.

Our Umbrella Theology
Becoming Beloved Community. Relationship | Justice | Dignity | Community: For and with all
Strategic Commitments


Mission and Relationship with
All Community Members


Foster Formation and


Missional Engagement for
Growth and Transformation

Supporting Programs and Missions

Creation Care

Telling the Truth | Proclaiming the Dream | Practicing the Way of Love | Repairing the Breach