Roebling Suspension Bridge. Cincinnati, Ohio

About the Diocese of Southern Ohio

The Episcopal Church is home to more than 25,000 people in Southern Ohio. There are 72 churches in Cincinnati, Columbus, Dayton, in farm towns, county seats and suburban centers across the southern half of Ohio.

The Diocese of Southern Ohio was created in 1875 when the Diocese of Ohio split into two dioceses; Thomas A. Jagger became the first bishop. The Diocese of Southen Ohio has a jurisdiction of over 40 counties in Southern Ohio.  The offices of the Bishop of Southern Ohio and the cathedral, Christ Church Cathedral, are both located in downtown Cincinnati.

We are part of a larger, global community. The Episcopal Church has its roots in the Church of England, a part of the Anglican Communion. There are about 2.4 million Episcopalians in the United States, and more than 70 million Anglicans worldwide.