Looking for something specific?

Roebling Suspension Bridge. Cincinnati, Ohio

About the Diocese of Southern Ohio

The Episcopal Church is home to more than 25,000 people in Southern Ohio. There are 72 churches in Cincinnati, Columbus, Dayton, in farm towns, county seats and suburban centers across the southern half of Ohio.

In 1875 the Diocese of Ohio was divided, creating the Dioceses of Southern Ohio; Thomas A. Jagger became the first bishop in 1875.

The Diocese of Southen Ohio has a jurisdiction of over 40 counties in Southern Ohio.  The offices of the Bishop of Southern Ohio and the cathedral, Christ Church Cathedral, are both located in downtown Cincinnati.

We are led by the Rt. Rev. Thomas E. Breidenthal who was consecrated on April 28, 2007.  As bishop, he offers spiritual leadership in partnership with the clergy and the people of this diocese.

We are part of a larger, global community. The Episcopal Church has its roots in the Church of England, a part of the Anglican Communion. There are about 2.4 million Episcopalians in the United States, and more than 70 million Anglicans worldwide.